Spatial M5 and Cherry Amps

AmpDesigner333

• Industry Participant
  • Detailed AND Musical
    • Digital Amplifier Company
Spatial M5 and Cherry Amps
« on: 27 Oct 2020, 01:30 pm »
Anyone here running Spatial M5s with Cherry Amps?

DRHamp

Re: Spatial M5 and Cherry Amps
« Reply #1 on: 27 Oct 2020, 02:00 pm »
I also am very interested in the M5s for my Living Room (24x20x8).  Once I receive the DAC DAC 3, I will move it and the STM (w/MKII Upgrade & 60V PS) into that room and am shopping for floor standers for that area.
I have made initial email contact with Clayton Shaw (Spatial) just Inquiring about the M5s in my room.  I need to talk to him for more detail, but my initial impression is he felt the M3s would be more appropriate for my room size.
I am just really intrigued with the Open Baffle concept and believe Spatial would be my choice if I decide to go that way.

Rosswell105

« Reply #2 on: 28 Oct 2020, 11:37 am »
I have been enjoying M5 sapphires since late 2019. I added a 2-Cherry amp shortly after. M5s and a cherry amp are a great combo and I have not looked back. My listening room is much smaller than yours. I have M5s about 7 ft apart and 3 ft into the room.  the speaker to the back of the listening chair is 9 ft. I also have a pair of subwoofers to supplement low frequencies- not necessary but make a difference. It is not just size of your room, but how far is your listening position from the speakers? M5 and Cherry can play fairly loud without distortion. It all depended on how you Dac and preamp (on int amp) are set up but I have turned up my preamp to 22 highest (full scale is 100). If you are seating at the other end of the your room, definitely M3 will be a better choice.

DRHamp

« Reply #3 on: 28 Oct 2020, 02:05 pm »
I also have a pair of subwoofers to supplement low frequencies- not necessary but make a difference.