Novice's interest!

Andrew Wicks

Novice's interest!
« on: 12 Feb 2003, 12:02 pm »
Hi all,

I have been enjoying music and hifi for some 22 years now and have quite a nice system at home, but am looking to upgrade various components over time!  

I am looking for a more powerful power amplifier to replace my (good, but low powered (2x35W)) Naim NAP110 and drive some large Linn 4 ohm Keilidh speakers!  I believe that to get the best from the speakers, I am going to need a lot more power, but I cannot justify spending >£1000 on a power amp.  

I have been eyeing the White Noise Audio web site and audiophile products / complete kits in the catalogue for a few weeks and it looks interesting! However, I am a total electronics novice  :roll: and wonder whether I could end up wasting a smaller (but still considerable) amount of cash on one of the excellent kits, if I mess up (e.g.  built the thing incorrectly or damage components  :nono: or have poor soldering skills) the build!  

Any suggestions would be most welcome?  Do you know anyone that would offer a reasonably priced build service? Where can I start to learn / develop my capabilities?  I need a separate power supply for my Naim pre-amp, could I start with this as a simpler project - what would I need?

David, do you have any views on the likely performance of your amps against some of the standard amps from Naim et al (e.g. NAP 250) or some of the modified units coming out of Chesterfield / Av*ndale? :D

Darren

Novice's interest!
« Reply #1 on: 13 Feb 2003, 11:48 am »
hey there andrew,

well u can have for example, power amps, fully constructed and cased etc from WNA, if you are really unhappy about soldering etc.