My RAW home theater build (5 speakers) *with pics*

IronForge

My RAW home theater build (5 speakers) *with pics*
« on: 14 Jul 2007, 04:43 pm »
Hello.  I have been visiting the audio circle forums for about 3 years.  I wouldn't classify myself as an audiophile or expert, but rather an informed consumer with some technical knowledge.  A kit makes much more sense than dropping the same amount of $$ in a big box store.  Also I do not have measurement equipment, only my ears.  My only purchase up to now has been the 12" subwoofer/passive radiator combo from GR-Research.  To add to my collection I recently purchased three OB2X speaker kits (for front left, center, front right) and two RAV1X speaker kits (for rear surrounds).  Originally I was going to go with something more like 5 RAV1X kits.  Al pointed out the OB2X and OB3X threads and I looked into those.  The flat pack was also a good incentive.  I use an infocus projector, so I don't have to worry about the OB2X speakers getting in the way of the screen.

Currently I have all of the crossovers done for the OB2X kits, 9 total.  The RAV1X kits I will start on next.  Two of the cabinets are done, courtesy of Al and Danny.  Being the first to order Al sent me the two test cabinets for the cost of shipping along with one flat pack.

You can see one of them setup below, with crossovers being tested.  GR sub is also in the background along with the speakers I am replacing (to the far right).

Forgive the mess, you know how things get when you are putting kits together.  Not to mention I am in the middle of rearranging my home theater.  (going to paint, add some velvet curtains, run wire in the wall, room treatments, etc.)

My (humble) equipment/setup:
Panasonic XR-25 digital amp receiver (100w x6@6ohm, 100hz is receiver cutoff between speakers/sub)
Rythmik Audio 350 for sub (380W RMS@4ohm <0.1%THD, 245W RMS @8ohm <0.1% THD)
Bravo D1 DVD player (hooked up via DVI, with capacitor mod)