want to build a RA-8

winggee

• Turborocco
want to build a RA-8
« on: 24 Aug 2006, 05:45 pm »
I'm seriously considering buying this kit. I really enjoy building things and it would be awesome to say I built these. I'm still debating if i want to build the front first or wait off and build the pair first. I hope I can save up enough money by sept 1 to get the deal on $1 shipping.

I'm all about very wide and deep sound stages. From what i've read, these have very good imaging and wide sound stage.

A few questions though. I know i can build the enclosure no problem. My concern is the finishing work. I want to make sure build these right and have a really nice look to them as well. I've never used a router before. I don't know how to make nice rounded edges and do veneering. I heard quotes for veneering in the $1k range.. that's just too much for me. Rather do it myself.

If anybody has any pointers on the building and finishing work, that would be awesome!

I'm pretty stoked about this. I built a st35 from diytube.com and want to match them up with these in the time being. I'm all about diy. :D

Please help build the hype up for me. ;)

Thanks
Wing

Berndt

Re: want to build a RA-8
« Reply #1 on: 24 Aug 2006, 06:26 pm »
You mighty consider the color impregnated mdf.
http://www.archipedia.org/materials/mdfcolor

All you have to do is seal them after construction.

You can also powdercoat mdf...
http://www.powdercoating.org/wood/content.htm

R_burke

« Reply #2 on: 24 Aug 2006, 07:06 pm »
If I had any skills I'd go with the colored MDF, powder coating is nice, but another step in the process that makes the project longer and more steps = more chances for errors

Here's a site that has the colored MDF

http://www.greatlakesmdf.com/spectratech.php

winggee

• Turborocco
« Reply #3 on: 24 Aug 2006, 08:10 pm »