Elac Navis Speakers

Anteaker

Elac Navis Speakers
« on: 16 Aug 2021, 01:35 pm »
Hello, I am a very unknowledgeable newbie with what perhaps will seem a dumb question to some.  I have a sudden opportunity locally to purchase a pair of Elac Navis speakers at a fantastic price. My question is are these speakers suitable for a home theater system. Any explanation pro or con will be much appreciated.

John Casler

Re: Elac Navis Speakers
« Reply #1 on: 16 Aug 2021, 05:31 pm »
It can depend on how you intend to use them.  If you run your L&R channels from your Processor or AVR "line level" outputs, then they will work fine.

If you have ideas about wireless, then it could be more challenging.

WGH

« Reply #2 on: 16 Aug 2021, 07:14 pm »
The Navis will work out fine. If used for the side or rear surround they will have more than enough power and the 44 Hz low end response won't be a problem.

If used for the main L&R channels then you should get a sub if you don't already have one. Movie soundtracks can have powerful bass, 30Hz - 40Hz woofer flapping bass is not unusual, if the Navis are run full range then the woofers will probably do some strange things. A home theater receiver with a sub rolls off the bass to all speakers at 60Hz - 80Hz so full range speakers are not needed.

Ideally the L, R and Center speaker should be as identical as possible that way speech timbre doesn't change when moving between speakers.

Doublej

« Reply #3 on: 16 Aug 2021, 10:49 pm »
What AVR are you going to use with them?

Anteaker

« Reply #4 on: 16 Aug 2021, 11:30 pm »
I am starting from scratch so I have no AV. recommendations?

WGH

« Reply #5 on: 17 Aug 2021, 12:26 am »
Depends on your goals. Since the Elac Navis are powered speakers you will need a AV reveiver with preamp outs, not all do, especially the entry level models.

Depends on your budget. Will the AV receiver plus Navis max out the budget? You will end up with a 2 channel home theater.