virtue amps and music production

lilakmonoke

virtue amps and music production
« on: 4 Jul 2011, 06:35 pm »
hi all -

im an electronic music producer from berlin/germany and have recently upgraded from trends ta 10.1 to two virtue amps (one.1 and one.2) ... i just want to share my unusual setup and experiences with you:

my studio setup is the one.2 amp, RME fireface uc audio interface and dynaudio bm-15p speakers:

the rme fireface uc is a high end audio interface with 18 in / 18 out channels and usb interface. its sound is very honest and high resolution with strong midrange, i think it matches very well with the one.2. ... btw it solves the multiple sources problem nicely as comes with an amazing mixer software and rock solid drivers.

i would love to see a sound comparison between these professional audio interfaces and audiophile DACs.

the dynaudio bm15p are big passive midfield monitor speakers. they have atypically full bass for dynaudio, strong mids and pleasant highs, very good for electronic music. as midfield monitors they project a wide angle and fill up the room with sound even at low volume.

ive been a tripath user for a long time and went from the original sonic impact -> trends ta 10.1 -> virtue audio one.2. i dont believe there is anything like a "neutral" amp, they are all resonators with a specific sound, just like instruments. with tripaths amps the sound has a lot to do with musical distortion.

the sonic impact had this really punchy tube sound. the trends turned that into something very beautiful, it opened up the low and high end - i just called it the "silver sound". the one.2 is a totally different beast.

- the midrange is much stronger than with the trends, especially with my setup. in the beginning it was really harsh but after one month of use it has mellowed out considerably and become much softer. i have a feeling it will get even better.