Hypex and K-horns

gigbyt

Hypex and K-horns
« on: 15 Jan 2013, 10:03 pm »
Just wondering if anyone has any experience with this Ncore amp with Klipschorns or other high efficiency speakers?

Was thinking about getting a stereo ncore amp built for me, but would like to get impressions of its use with horns.

thanks.

jonbee

Re: Hypex and K-horns
« Reply #1 on: 15 Jan 2013, 11:11 pm »
I've no actual experience with the matchup, but I own N-cores, and know the K-horn reasonably well. Here's some general comments.
The most remarkable qualities of the NCores, in my system, are their lack of any self noise, their rock solid bass control and depth, great detail and dynamics, and an easy sounding yet highly detailed top end.
It's hard to see how any of these, particularly the noiselessness, bass control, and top end ease, would be anything but a plus with the K-horns, and probably major plusses.
The only characteristic that I'm unsure about is that the N-Core, compared to most other amps, is more dynamic and forward sounding. As K-horns are also very dynamic, this matchup MAY be too much of a good thing, but without hearing it in a system I'm not sure how that would come out.
Have fun!

Freo-1

« Reply #2 on: 15 Jan 2013, 11:28 pm »
 Man, at first blush, high powered amps and K-Horns do not seem to be a good combination.  Paul Klipsch's favorite saying (next to Bull***t), was as follows:

“What this country needs is a good 5 watt amplifier”   :lol:

playntheblues

• D-Sonic, Mola Mola TamBagui, Tekton DISE
« Reply #3 on: 15 Jan 2013, 11:49 pm »
Paul Klipsch is no Doubt a legend and I have owned K-horns, Lascalas and Cornwalls.  Having said that here is a quote from another thread here which I tend to agree with.

"A quote from Tom Danley on another forum in a thread about the need for high power amps: