Cornet2 and Castanet cap bypass for a newbie

Theo

Cornet2 and Castanet cap bypass for a newbie
« on: 2 Jun 2008, 07:46 pm »
I've been living with my Cornet2 and Castanet built with all stock parts for a few months now.  Satisfying but I'm itching  over the idea of experimenting with cap bypassing.  I'm a newbie on cap bypassing.  What values of bypass caps and which caps on the circuits should I attempt bypass for a starter?  Which brand of caps are best value for this application?

Thanks

mingles

• my system
Re: Cornet2 and Castanet cap bypass for a newbie
« Reply #1 on: 4 Jun 2008, 06:39 pm »
Theo, I'm gonna step out on a limb and assume you meant cap upgrades, rather than "cap bypassing." Bypassing isn't the first step to take when tearing into a stock Cornet. Start by replacing these caps:

C200, C206, C208, C203, C202, C204 

You need to decide how much you can spend, but an inexpensive route would be to replace them all with Sonicap Gen I. That'll set you back about $100. If you want better results and you're willing to spend twice as much, I recommend this combo:

C200, C206  --> Dynamicaps (1uF)  $76 from Sonic Craft
C208*  -->  Mundorf Silver/Oil (1uF)  $95 from SC
C203*  -->  K40 PIO (.1uF)  $15 from: jimmcshane@prodigy.net
C202   -->  Sonicap Gen II (.047uF)  $10
C204   -->  Sonicap Gen II (.001uF)  $8

Everyone is going to give you different advice. There's no absolute right or wrong. You have to decide how much you want to spend.

Best of luck,
Mark

tubesforever

« Reply #2 on: 7 Jun 2008, 03:05 pm »
Mingles is absolutely right about all of us having specific preferences. I respect all his choices. 

Here is my take on bypass caps.  Generally we use them to provide clearer and cleaner highs on a larger value cap position (like speaker crossovers) and to give us sparkle when we use elecrolytic power supply capacitors.