Odd problems with Musicmatch Jukebox and MP3 compatibility

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
This is really odd- the MP3's I burned onto CD-R before I got MM would play on a Panny DVD deck in the house but not my Pioneer Elite.  Now, with MM, every disc I've burned works flawlessly in my Pioneer but not a single one will play in the Panny! :scratch:

I've tried discs burned using MM on two different computers, both nearly new, each with a different brand of burner.  The software is the newest version and the firmware/drivers are up to date.

Incidentally, the MM discs play basically right on an old Apex a buddy has, except that about 5% of the tracks have the first second clipped off.  Those Apex's are flaky though, so I attribute that too the deck.

So I guess my question is just how compatible or universal MP3 is.  Is it just a crap shoot whether your disc will play on a given car deck or CD player?  Or is something wrong with some of the hardware/software I've used?

I'm new to using MP3, so any advice is welcome.

Thanks.

witchdoctor

« Reply #1 on: 27 Jul 2003, 06:55 pm »
Some players play MP3 files , some only play wave files. Try burning it as a wave file and then try your other player again.

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
« Reply #2 on: 27 Jul 2003, 07:38 pm »
If a deck says "MP3" or "WMA" on the front, tho, you'd think it would play something other than WAV files...certainly I know the Panny will play an MP3; I've played MP3's burned on 2 different PC using software other than MMJ and it works fine.  

I will try to use MMJ to burn a disc of WAV files, but that wouldn't really help much, I don't think.  You'd still be stuck with just 80 minutes of music.  Anyway, IMO, Nero is much superior to MMJ for burning WAV files.

One last note: at least on the two rigs in my place, MMJ does a pretty mediocre job of level matching volumes.  Especially compared to how flawlessly Nero level matches WAV files.  Have you noticed this, WitchDoctor, or do you use the volume matching?