Newbie questions: No Bias Adjust? Most holographic amp?

tw_switzerland

• I like the 3D imaging of a good stereo chain.
Hello

I am an audio newbie from Switzerland and have some questions.
Maybe someone can help me.

I have been owning a Trends Audio TA 10.2 for a few months now. And I like it's natural and relaxed sound. It simply sounds "right". And what I like most is its threedimensional soundstage, something my previous Onkyo amp could not offer.

Now I want to upgrde to something more powerfull with the same advantages. And my searches led me to the great Virtue Audio amplifiers.

Are all Virtue amps (One, Two, Sensation) the same, regarding their 3D imaging. Or does one sound a bit more "holographic" than the others?

And one thing that I could not find in the web: Do the Virtue amps have to be bias adjusted from time to time (as the Trends has to be) in order not to "plop" when being switched on?

Thank you! :-)

Greetings from Switzerland
Thomas
« Last Edit: 2 Jun 2010, 12:11 pm by tw_switzerland »

classicjt2

Re: Newbie questions: No Bias Adjust? Most holographic amp?
« Reply #1 on: 2 Jun 2010, 03:32 am »
Welcome Thomas!

There is something truly special about the Tripath amplifiers, and for me it begins with the wide open soundstage- it just sounds more natural in its presentation. This attribute, combined with its purity (at least at low volume levels), makes music for me.