AVA amps and power cords

2gumby2

AVA amps and power cords
« on: 23 Dec 2008, 11:55 am »
I've been following the AVA 440H review here and I have some interest in the power cords Frank supplies with his amps. 

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=62866.msg568081;topicseen

The reviewer seems to be disappointed with the 16 gauge power cord that came on his 440H. I've always thought that Frank was probably a smart enough amp designer to choose an adequate power cord for his products. I own two Ultra 550s and an Ultra 350 and I've been very happy with them, but I have wondered if I ever decided to bridge the two 550s to power some big Magnepans (or whatever else I might need serious power for) if the "skinny" cords would be able to carry the current for that much power. I'm not an engineer so I'm probably showing my ignorance here, but I would like to know a little about the science of choosing the right gauge of power cord for the most extreme use of the product within its design parameters.

Wayner

Re: AVA amps and power cords
« Reply #1 on: 23 Dec 2008, 12:13 pm »
A 16 awg cord is capable of 13 amps continuously. That would equate to a 1560 watt draw from a 120 volt outlet. This is why larger then necessary cords are simply not used. This is an amplifier, not a welder.

Wayner  :D

martyo

« Reply #2 on: 23 Dec 2008, 12:52 pm »
This is an amplifier, not a welder.

That's major funny Wayner. :rotflmao:

Merry Christmas all, and get some xtra listening in over the break aa 8)

Big Red Machine

« Reply #3 on: 23 Dec 2008, 01:32 pm »
You definitely need those larger PC's and you should request Frank make the upgrade to IEC outlets for you.  :flame:

sueata1

« Reply #4 on: 23 Dec 2008, 01:39 pm »
I use 2 Ultra 550's bridged Mono with a Fet Valve Phase Inverter driving a pair of
Maggie 1.6QR's
Awesome and No problems :)

Happy listening
Mel

warnerwh

« Reply #5 on: 23 Dec 2008, 06:32 pm »