Any experienced CAD guys around here?

Folsom

Any experienced CAD guys around here?
« on: 10 May 2022, 05:12 am »
Sooo who we got?

nlitworld

• Strange things are afoot at the Circle K
Re: Any experienced CAD guys around here?
« Reply #1 on: 10 May 2022, 07:01 am »
I've spent some serious hours clicking away on Autocad. I was a Civil Engineering student and spent a few years drafting at an engineering firm before the 08 crash. Now I just fiddle for remodeling my backyard or other house projects.

Digi-G

« Reply #2 on: 10 May 2022, 04:41 pm »
I started using AutoCAD (version 9) in 1987.  Used AutoCAD extensively until about 5 years ago when I switched jobs and then started using REVIT.

I did a lot, A LOT(!!!), of AutoLisp development with AutoCAD.  Mostly for my own use, then for the firm(s) I was with and some of it was even sold.

Not using AutoCAD daily for the last few years, my skills have gotten pretty rusty.  But my Revit skills are better than ever.

Oh, before 1987 I used an Applicon Bravo cad workstation on a mainframe.  Monochrome monitor.  Stylus with a wire and a tablet (no mouse yet).  One good static shock would crash the entire system, especially in the winter.  Used to happen nightly.  We saved often!

OldNick

« Reply #3 on: 10 May 2022, 09:11 pm »
Closed my aerial survey biz last year and retired.  Worked with Autocad for a few decades, plenty of custom Lisp too.  Pretty specific applications though, what are you looking for OP?

Folsom

« Reply #4 on: 10 May 2022, 09:22 pm »
Amplifier design  8)

I’ve been sick so I’m a little slow on all fronts.

sandbagger

« Reply #5 on: 10 May 2022, 09:23 pm »
I have been doing 3D CAD for 20yrs give or take.
most of those have been in Catia V5 doing surface modeling, mostly sheetmetal but also do solids from time to time

doing a lot of 3D printing for fun last few years so have had to step up my solids game at home

OldNick

« Reply #6 on: 10 May 2022, 09:39 pm »
Amplifier design  8)