How to get started in designing OB speakers

acwd1950

How to get started in designing OB speakers
« on: 7 Jul 2008, 01:38 pm »
I am really interested in building a pair of OB speakers. But I have many questions and being very new to this design I came here to start with. After reading many topics on this website, I do believe they will get answered. So here it goes.
Question 1 How do you find the size of the baffle? Trial and error? or is there a magical figure?
Question 2 What driver parameters determine what driver would work in a OB?
Question 3 Is there a computer program to aid in designing OBs and where do I obtain it?
Question 4 Is a fullrange speaker better in a OB than a multi driver configuration?

As stated I am very new to this design. I have built, rebuilt, and refoamed speakers before so some of this isnt greek to me.
Thanks in advance.

Steve

MJK

• Quarter Wavelength Loudspeaker Design
Re: How to get started in designing OB speakers
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jul 2008, 03:55 pm »
Steve,

These are my thoughts on OB design. There are other methods but these have worked for me. I believe that this approach works well for both passive and active crossover options.

Question 1 How do you find the size of the baffle? Trial and error? or is there a magical figure?

I find the size and shape using computer modeling. But since this is such a quick and easy build, the cut and try method will also work if you don't mind using up some wood or cardboard.

I believe you need to think in terms of a two way design as a minimum. I like larger pro woofers with an fs of about 40 and a Qts of greater than 1.0. This will allow a floor standing OB design that is about 20" in width by 32 to 48 inches tall. If your Qts drops below 1.0, the bass will be rolled off. You will not get below 40 Hz with a flat reasonably sized OB without some EQ even if your driver has an fs of 30 Hz. To go lower passively requires an H or U frame dipole.