Mosfet 250 audiophile & audiophile pre

Raj

« on: 11 Jan 2003, 01:27 pm »
Hi,

I recieved my mosfet 250 just a few weeks ago. It's built and now up and running. After many irritating phonecalls to David over the Christmas period I finally completed the amp, I was almost a complete novice with very little experience, and I don't really understand electronics. This was my first really quality component, and the upgrade from my marantz(pm6010ki), was quite amazing! I'd pretty much gone all out with my order, I'd already built the audiophile pre-amp with the buffer amp(audiophile), and had ordered 2 active psu's and also two 500w toroids to run the power amps. I'd also recieved my amp with the larger heatsinks and after a while turned the quiescent current upto 250ma. This in itself was another step forwards in sound quality, this smoothed out the sound. I had heard from David that one of his builders runs the amp at 600ma, so I decided to see if I could do the same. As a result I am now experimenting with fan cooling, which has enabled me to raise the bias upto 500ma, and another leap in performance! The new sound threw me back at first, it was so liquid smooth (I thought to myself this must be what the tubes guys are on about), I wasn't quite sure if I liked what I heard, but this was it, the sound was natural, not that brash edgy and short term grabbing sound you get from 'HI-FI', but much more akin to what the musicians had played, I just wasn't used to it. Further listening convinced me, as a consequence I'm using a very 'dirty' diy fan job to cool the heatsinks cause I just don't want to go back to a lower current setting! The central soundstage has opened up, I'm now getting seperation in 3D and height. There's more space between singers, drums and instruments. Before I had sounds at the left and right speaker and a central sound, now the soundstage has spread, also finer details and notes that I really had not heard before on my cd's were realised. You can almo