Should I be Insulted? & Why No Respect?

Sparks

« on: 10 Jan 2006, 12:48 am »
On another forum there is a sub-forum for gear costing > $20k.
A topic was posted asking for opinions on overpriced gear.
I posted that I thought Wilson Audio was\is overpriced.
I never said they were crap or anything, just overpriced and I honestly feel that way.
I've heard X-2s and the WATT\Puppy, properly set up etc.

Someone who owns Wilsons took exception, looked at my profile there and gave me
a jab with rolleyes because I listed Salk speakers(soon). I don't have them yet so I qualified it.

Actually it didn't bother me too much but I thought the guy was a bit immature and condescending.
I guess it raises this question, Why do quality products, no matter where they come from,
garner so little respect or even consideration among people who are supposed top be savvy\experienced about these things.

Believe me I'm no rocket scientist but after I heard 1801s and some other kit\direct market speakers
I was convinced of the value & outright superiority of the products.
Maybe this is pointless but I still find it mystifying.

jermmd

« Reply #1 on: 10 Jan 2006, 01:05 am »
Sparks,

You know how I feel about the Salk speakers and I can tell you with certainty that they are at least comparable to very expensive speakers like Wilson. Wilson represents the prototype overpriced overhyped speaker. The AVS member who rolled his eyes has a huge amount invested in his speakers and takes it somewhat personally when people disrespect his Wilsons. If you had >$100k costing speakers, you wouldn't want people making disparaging comments about them either. He wasn't really commenting about the Salks (which he has never heard), he was rolling his eyes at "another Wilson basher." It was the $20k+ forum afterall and he is one of the primaries over there.

And despite that great bargains like Salk exist, you generally get what you pay for.

Marbles

Re: Should I be Insulted? & Why No Respect?