veneer adhesive

undertowogt1

veneer adhesive
« on: 10 Oct 2016, 07:32 pm »
Hi Guys,

I wasn't sure where to post this question, but I  figured the OB guys would have a decent amount of experience with Veneer. I am currently refurbishing my Original Large Advent Speakers, including reforming, re grilling and doing a layer of Veneer as the current finish is really bad. I did some research and came to the conclusion that a product called TITEBOND III WOOD GLUE would be the best adhesive for my Veneer. When I looked at the Veneer product box it says to use Contact Cement. So what do you think? Any experience with this? I don't want to waste 50 bucks in Veneer using the wrong adhesive.

Also: This is my first time using Veneer
The Veneer is Red Oak, Paperbacked.

ebag4

Re: veneer adhesive
« Reply #1 on: 10 Oct 2016, 09:44 pm »
I have had good luck with a product called Heat Lock.  You put it on the veneer and the surface getting the veneer, let it dry and the use a warm iron to apply it.  This allows you to place the veneer where you want it without it sticking in the wrong spot, contact cement does not allow that freedom.  The one caution would be not to use too much heat, it could cause the veneer to split.

Good luck,
Ed

TomS

« Reply #2 on: 10 Oct 2016, 09:48 pm »
+1 on Heat Lock. Their site also has great first timer tips.

With no prior experience, I did my first few veneer projects with it and was very happy with the results. I used an old cotton t-shirt between the iron and the veneer to manage the heat.

Wayner

« Reply #3 on: 10 Oct 2016, 11:38 pm »
Contact cement. I done several speakers with it and the results are great. Available at any hardware store.

Peter J

• Hmmmm
« Reply #4 on: 11 Oct 2016, 12:43 am »