An Australian take on My first XLS Encore Build OCT 2020

Speaker Challenged

This is my first speaker build and I am a total newbie to this hobby. Dealing with Danny has been a pleasure.

It has been so much fun so I thought I would share some pictures and commentary. I hope you enjoy the post and let me know what you think? Improvements for future builds as I want to eventually look into a pair of NX studio monitors next year. Starting to save up now. :)
With the Oz dollar so weak against the US and international shipping I went with a standard kit. It was $471 delivered when converted to Oz dollars. I built the cabinets here as it was almost 800 Ozzie to get Peters cabinets made and delivered to Australia

So to begin the parts arrived very well packed with no damage. 1 week from Texas to Australia.

`  
« Last Edit: 20 Oct 2020, 12:43 am by Speaker Challenged »

Speaker Challenged

Re: My first and second build xls encores
« Reply #1 on: 19 Oct 2020, 07:43 am »

Let the build begin. I started at my friends wood shop and went from there. I saved on No Rez by using a Backyard Rez I used on the inside? Floor tile and acoustic foam. Thanks to Danny for the tip.

« Last Edit: 20 Oct 2020, 12:35 am by Speaker Challenged »

Speaker Challenged

« Reply #2 on: 19 Oct 2020, 07:47 am »
Cutting the backyardRez to fit and gluing and clamping the cabs.

Not happy with the tweeter fit. I used the jig saw and I couldn't get a perfect hole to router.

« Last Edit: 20 Oct 2020, 12:17 am by Speaker Challenged »

Speaker Challenged

« Reply #3 on: 19 Oct 2020, 07:59 am »
Crossovers and painting next.

Add polyfil, screw in drivers and polish..

« Last Edit: 19 Oct 2020, 11:32 pm by Speaker Challenged »

Speaker Challenged

« Reply #4 on: 19 Oct 2020, 08:05 am »