Question about longevity of driver

Tom Bombadil

Question about longevity of driver
« on: 27 Jun 2019, 02:48 am »
I have read, in two forums, that the midrange aerogel driver used in the original VR-7 is subject to age deterioration.   That if it is 15+ years old then it may be well out of original spec.  I have no first hand knowledge of this.  Just wondering if anyone has any knowledge of this.

Delacroix

Re: Question about longevity of driver
« Reply #1 on: 29 Jun 2019, 03:37 pm »
I've no experience of the Vr-7 but might be worth sending an email to VSA to see what they say. I do suspect there's stuff you can upgrade on the 7s if so inclined but it would be nice to know the general lifespan of these and similar drivers for those of us with speakers that are more than a couple of years old.

Tom Bombadil

« Reply #2 on: 29 Jun 2019, 04:02 pm »
I have searched around the web and cannot find anything on Audax aerogel driver degradation.   Mine seem fine.  But these two posts said it happened and that it was "well known." 

Delacroix

« Reply #3 on: 29 Jun 2019, 04:23 pm »
Tom -- not aware of that myself. I only ever read good things about these drivers. I know there's a lot of opinions out there but claims for a problem being 'well-known' are easy to make but harder to substantiate it would appear.  Of course, everything in nature is subject to age so in some sense, the claims must be true but.......

Mark Korda

• Dawkus
« Reply #4 on: 29 Jun 2019, 05:30 pm »
Hi Tom,
  I built a pair of small monitors in 1990 using the Audex Europa 8 co-ax driver. It has a foam rubber surround around the woofer. I've used them constantly with no problems. Most other speakers I've seen with foam surrounds don't last that long. My Grado earphone pads, SR-80, didn't even last 2 years and I hardly ever used them.