Help with Salk

gazingupward

Help with Salk
« on: 11 Feb 2023, 06:50 am »
Hi. I'm new to AudioCircle and relatively new to Salk. Any suggestions on how to learn more about what Salk has to offer, how to know the differences in the different series, and ideally how to hear them?
I currently own Dynaudio Emits M20 & M10 & Dali Opticon 2 Mk2. I'm checking out Heco Celans & Arendals. Just mentioning this as a point of reference.
Thanks

Charles Xavier

Re: Help with Salk
« Reply #1 on: 11 Feb 2023, 11:25 am »
Plenty of info and reviews on the forum. And here is a list of owners for auditions. See if anyone is in your area.

https://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=88740.0

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 11 Feb 2023, 01:08 pm »
Welcome!

Suggest looking into active monitors.  Owned Dynaudio BM5 Mk3, about the same drivers/cabinet size as the Emit 20 but with the advantages of being active (low voltage crossover, separate amps per each driver, greater dynamics/bass).  Of course many other actives are available, from JBL 305 Mk2 ($300/pair) on up, many include room correction DSP, DAC's, and more.  Even Salk offers one.

AllanS

« Reply #3 on: 11 Feb 2023, 01:36 pm »
Welcome to AC.
 I’m not sure how best to help.  Salk Sound website obviously details every speaker and driver with some history behind their development.  The resources page includes a link to the AVS Forum thread but I’m not come across information that describes each series of speakers or compares them.
Like other highly crafted products, Salk speakers are a reflection of the people behind the product and their values.  Immersing yourself in the community and asking questions is a great way to come to know the product and people but it’s not a quick shopping list kind of process.
In my experience a Salk difference, besides the craftsmanship, is the crossover design and driver integration.  For me it’s not so much what I’m hearing but where I’m hearing it in the sound stage.