Amps with different PRE

rockdrummer

Amps with different PRE
« on: 4 Oct 2011, 06:02 pm »
Hello!!  I'm going to order a V2 kit from GR Research eventually.  I only have a receiver and am looking to upgrade my amp. 

I came across a thread talking about Virtue Audio One, Two, etc.  Checked them out because I was stoked at the affordability.  Price is a factor for me right now.  Does anyone currently use the One or Two as an amp alone while using a separate preamp?  I know it is possible, but not prefered.  I will need this to be in my Home Theater being that I don't have a separate room for 2 channel.  I know the V2 I will get is very sensitive and good quality low-watt amps are used frequently with that brand. 

I'm new to the scene, and I'm shying away from my earlier decision to get an Emotiva amp.  I will probably end up with a receiver to amp to speaker configuration.  I'm also researching buffers.  Don't know what they do other than improve the sound.  Thanks for any and all help, looking forward to learning.

Ben

eclein

• Volunteer
  • ..we walk the plank with our eyes wide open!-Gotye
Re: Amps with different PRE
« Reply #1 on: 4 Oct 2011, 07:37 pm »
I do...I use a TWO.2 with a Grant Fidelity Tube DAC-09 DAC/Pre...works great, sounds excellent. Ask anybody who is doing it that way as there are a bunch of us...they sound better without the volume knob imo. If you can find a TWO.2 with Auricaps jump on it, get the 30/130 Power supply unless you want to do batteries and sit back and enjoy those new speakers...I bet that combo will rock...my DAC/ Pre cost like $200 and has supplied me an abundance of features working with the TWO.2.....I run a TWO with a Piano and old JBL's...love it!!!
 Mine also does the tube buffer thing and all that is, is adding the tonal qualities of a tube into the mix...I love the golden tones of tubes but love the power of SS so its the best of both and alot cheaper...I'm not cheap, just poor...LOL....enjoy

rockdrummer