Cornet2 questions from a newbie

cyto

Cornet2 questions from a newbie
« on: 17 Jun 2013, 04:59 pm »
Hi All   :D

My first post here, for my birthday this summer my wife is getting me a new phono preamp and I prefer to build one. Although I work in the medical field I was a licensed TV repairman in the 70s (tube days) and still tinker a lot, so doing the build won't be much of a problem. After looking at just about everything available I have decided on the Cornet2.

I am currently using a Musical Fidelity V-LPS that I upgraded the caps and op amps(opa627) on and using a Pyramid power supply. I was wonder what I can expect soundwise from the Cornet2, comparatively speaking?

Also, what brand of tubes tend to work best with this design?

What do the dimensions of the box end up being?

The rest of my system:
Yaqin MS-20L integrated tube amp
Technics SL1200-M3D turntable with Cardas tonearm wire and RCA jacks
Audio Technica AT120E cart
Emotiva ERC-1 Cd player
1987 Klipsch Heresy II signature edition speakers with H3 woofers and external crossovers
two Martin Logan Dynamo 300 subs

Thanks  :green:

David

Phil_S

Re: Cornet2 questions from a newbie
« Reply #1 on: 18 Jun 2013, 11:56 am »
Can't help with the Coronet question however I strongly recomend you upgrade the 120e to at least the 125LC.  We have the same table and modifications.  The difference was like night & day for less than $100. 

cyto

« Reply #2 on: 18 Jun 2013, 02:27 pm »
Phil,
I have never heard the 125LC, I had an AT440MLa and didn't like it so I sold it.

Does the 125LC sound similar to the 440MLa?

galyons

« Reply #3 on: 18 Jun 2013, 04:00 pm »
The circle is fully stocked with a multitude of posts about building, tube choices and customization.  Just search for Cornet2 and read away!

Cheers,
Geary

Phil_S

« Reply #4 on: 19 Jun 2013, 04:25 pm »