Song3 BeAT Vs. Veracity HT2-TL

kingcrowing

Song3 BeAT Vs. Veracity HT2-TL
« on: 5 Apr 2021, 01:18 am »
Title says it all, they seem fairly close on paper, what would be the benefit of one over another? Would both do ok without a subwoofer?

Saturn94

Re: Song3 BeAT Vs. Veracity HT2-TL
« Reply #1 on: 5 Apr 2021, 01:31 am »
I would expect the 3 way Song 3 to have a cleaner midrange since the separate mid driver doesn’t also have to pull bass duties like in the 2 way HT2-TL.

I use to own the HT2-TL and noticed the midrange would clean up when I crossed them over to a sub, relieving the HT2-TL of bass duties.

Meicheng

« Reply #2 on: 5 Apr 2021, 01:48 am »
The 3Beat is front ported whereas the HT2-TL is rear ported.  So I'm guessing one could place the 3Beats closer to the wall. 

Rocket

« Reply #3 on: 5 Apr 2021, 02:03 am »
Hi,

I do like the seas midrange of the HT2TL.  I noticed going from the HT2 to HT3 that the midrange was night and day more transparent.  I have no experience with the audio technology midrange driver so this would be a factor as well.  I also have another pair of song 3's and the midrange even from my distant memory of the HT2's isn't quite as good.

Ask Jim as I've find him very open and honest and he will guide you to the correct speaker for your requirements.

Cheers Rod

Ps. I've been buying speakers from Jim since 2008.

Jenner

« Reply #4 on: 5 Apr 2021, 02:29 am »
The 3Beat is front ported whereas the HT2-TL is rear ported.  So I'm guessing one could place the 3Beats closer to the wall.

Meicheng:
Blanket statements/assumptions suck. My HT2-TLs are front ported. One of the great benefits to Salk speakers is how much you can customize them compared to a mass produced "retail" speaker.

Kingcrowing: