Why do I like the miniwatt N3 more than the Yaqin 10L + what can I do about it?

Thinker1920

Hi Everyone,

Well I'm just getting into tubes and I don't have that much money being a college student :P...... I started out with a pair of polk RTi 4's and a miniwatt N3 (from china) and I REALLY liked the sound, I had picked up an onkyo TX-SR876 a little while before the miniwatt for $300 in mint condition, and while it's a nice amp after much listening between the both with the same speakers I liked the presentation that the miniwatt gave over the onkyo. I listened to the same song on both and it sounded like the soundstage was reorganized with the miniwatt, pulling different instruments to the front like the guitar, making the whole sound more organic and less mechanical.
    So after enjoying the miniwatt so much I thought I would pursue a larger tube setup. The only thing that I was disappointed with the miniwatt, and only slightly, was the bass response in very bass heavy music when played at higher volumes. I say slightly because at normal regular listening volumes the bass is actually pretty remarkable, at least I think so.
   So I sold the miniwatt and the polk RTi 4's so I'd have money for a larger tube amp. After researching I decided on the Yaqin 10L since I didn't have a lot of money and I read a lot of positive reviews about it. And I ended up changing the tubes since it was recommended by others that had it. The different tubes did improve the sound mostly making the bass tighter but, I didn't get the same rich sound I had with the miniwatt, it seemed closer to the onkyo.