Herbie's amazing Cone/Spike Decoupling Gliders

solentgreen

Herbie's amazing Cone/Spike Decoupling Gliders
« on: 3 Jul 2009, 09:44 am »
Hi,

I'm a Newbie here, and a happy owner of VR4jr speakers.  I am enjoying the journey of gradually discovering tuning & set-ups ideas to extract even more performance from my speakers.

IMHO, if there is one area where the VR4jr's performance is less than wonderful, its the bass.  My power amp is a Krell FPB300c so the amplifier is unlikely to be the problem.  My listening room is also a good size, being of dimensions (20 x 25 x 9) ft. ith hard wooden floors.  I have tried varying speaker locations etc.  The bass did improve a great deal after loading with 20 pounds of metallised sand granules, but it can still get a bit boomy on certain music.  I should clarify that I don?t think the VR4jr's bass performance is poor,  but an audiophile friend uses PMC IB2i speakers, & to be frank, the VR4jr's bass is not in that class; not that it is expected given the IB2is are twice the price of VR4jrs.  Its just that I feel the VR4jrs are so good that its on a par with the IB2i's performance in other areas. 

To try to improve, I just got a set of Herbie's Cone/Spike Decoupling Gliders to replace the standard VR conical metal discs that came with my speakers - my speakers came with the later conical spikes.  Well, the Herbies's Cone/Spike Decoupling Gliders improved the bass alright, but much more than that, it brought an amazing improvement in all-round detail & sound-staging.  The improvements are not subtle, but is unmistakable and clear on first listening; similar to improvements you get from a significant component upgrade.   At a very reasonable price of $12.50 each, I feel it?s a no-brainer for any VR4jr owners who are still only using the standard spikes & discs.       

Delacroix

Re: Herbie's amazing Cone/Spike Decoupling Gliders
« Reply #1 on: 3 Jul 2009, 04:41 pm »