BDP-3 Network Issues and Initializing status

CDinsmore

BDP-3 Network Issues and Initializing status
« on: 12 Feb 2022, 06:59 pm »
1) Front panel continually in "Initializing" mode. I found this subject previously discussed on this forum and it said the most likely issue was a loose cable inside. Is that still the accepted, or most likely solution, for this issue? I bought my BDP-3 used and it has always done this....I didn't worry about it before as I never really needed to access the front screen and it didn't seem to interfere with the functionality in any way.

2) I have a hard wired ethernet cable connecting my PC/Router/Modem to my BDP. I rip CDs to the HD connected to one of the USB ports on the rear of the BDP. I can typically see my BDP and HD via Microsoft Internet Explorer on my PC. Everything was just fine until just a few days ago when my BDP-3 dropped off the network. I'm not technically inclined, but here are all the steps and observations I have made:
    a) Checked all connections
    b) Updated firmware to S2.44 2021-10-05
    c) Checked my router and I see the BDP listed as being on the network. I assigned a DCHP reservation using the same IP address I see on the BDP's Dashboard as recommended in the user manual. Under Network Interfaces on the BDP's Dashboard it currently shows the Interface: etho as DHCP. I tried changing that to Static and I get a message saying that "Safari Can't Connect to the Server". Also - under Network Interface screen the Gateway field is blank. I tried saving my router's IP address there, but I got another "Safari Can't Connect to the Server" message. Should something be there? The manual doesn't seem to address this.
    d) Rebooted BDP-3 and PC.
    e) I can play music just fine using MPD via a notebook computer via Wi-Fi set up through my router.