Need speaker cable rec for Brines FT1600 mkII

toobluvr

Need speaker cable rec for Brines FT1600 mkII
« on: 16 Jan 2009, 12:09 am »
Looking to open up the top end, and get more sparkle and air.
Currently using MAC CuQ sound pipes.  They worked nicely on VA Bachs,  but things sound a bit dark and shut-in on the Brines.  No complaints about rest of the range, mids sound particularly nice and bass is surprisingly punchy and "there" for such a small driver that covers most of the FR.

I've had many multi-driver systems, but I'm new to the SD world.  Is this their character and the sacrifice one must make in exchange for their coherency and midrange purity?  Or is it fixabled without damaging the rest of the range, or going for a supertweeter?  On that note, any supertweeter recs without breaking the bank?  Would the one offered by AV123 provide what I seek and integrate OK?

I don't believe rest of the gear is at fault, since when placed into other systems there is no shortage of treble information:

Vista Audio el34 integrated
Cary 308T cdp
Audio Art IC-3

Thanks for all input!

« Last Edit: 16 Jan 2009, 03:56 pm by toobluvr »

Bemopti123

Re: Need speaker cable rec for Brines FT1600 mkII
« Reply #1 on: 16 Jan 2009, 12:46 am »
Did you break the drivers enough?  Fostex drivers are known to require a good 500-600 hours in order to settle until then, perhaps you are still hearing the driver's transformation.  Of course, you could have already broken them up, then, perhaps you question will be valid. 

Paul

toobluvr

« Reply #2 on: 16 Jan 2009, 12:51 am »
Don't know Paul.....
I bought them used.

:scratch:

nature boy

« Reply #3 on: 16 Jan 2009, 12:56 am »
I am using Clear Day silver cables on my Hornshoppe Horns with a Decware tube amplifier.  Just luv em'.
These are available on Agon from Paul Laudati (user name Vonwaffen).  Paul gives you in inhome trial and will send you singles and a double shotgun run to try out.

He is a really wonderful guy.

NB

rjbond3rd