DHT tubes for the Vinnie Rossi LIO preamp - looking for recommendations

zybar

• Volunteer
  • Dutch and Dutch 8C's…yes they are that good!
Wasn't sure how many tube heads frequent Vinnie's Circle, so I thought I would post here.

The LIO with the DHT module installed can use the following tube families:

2A3 / 45, 300B, PX4 / PX25, 101D / 205D, and SV811 / SV572

As of now, I have only heard the LIO with the stock EH 2A3 Gold-Grid tubes and with Svetlana SV811-10 tubes (thoriated tungsten filaments).  Out of those two, I preferred the SV811's.

I am a newbie when it comes to DHT tubes (all my time has been spent on 6922 and 6SN7 tubes) and I am looking for some guidance on where to spend my time and money.

What I want out of the tubes:

- Well balanced and no significant areas of weakness
- Holographic imaging and soundstage
- Well fleshed out vocals and mid-range, with texture and ambiance
- Strong and articulate bass
- Pulls me more into the music
- Needs to be quiet and not microphonic
- A realistic price tag - can/won't spend $1000+ on a pair of tubes - no matter how good they sound
- Can be NOS or current production

Where I could use some guidance:

Are there certain families that provide what I am looking for better than others? For example, 300B over 2A3?

Within a specific family, any recommendations?  For example, you must hear the EML 300B mesh plate or the psvane 300B

My system:

Speakers:  Vandersteen 5A's or Spatial Audio M3 Turbo S
Amps:  Atsah NC 1200 mono blocks
Preamp:  Vinnie Rossi LIO
DAC:  Vinnie Rossi LIO
Cables:  Morrow Audio, Kaplan Cable
Room treatment:  Lots from RealTraps and GIK

Room size is 21'10" x 12'10" x 8'

Let me know what other info I could provide.

Thanks in advance for your help and assistance.

George

BobRex