Mirand A1 V1.2

HT cOz

Mirand A1 V1.2
« on: 1 Nov 2018, 02:00 am »
I've started a new amp project from Mirand Audio http://mirand-audio.dk/ This company has been posting to DIYAudio for a few years and has a no cost compromise mentality.  Their newest amplifier is not on the website but can be found in this long DIY Thread https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/vendor-s-bazaar/274456-ak4490-usb-dac-dsd-support-158.html#post5488359  The amplifier module has a manual which is located at this link https://www.dropbox.com/s/we59snroi051bjc/Mirand%20A1%20V12%20Manual.pdf?dl=0

The vendor is very professional and the shipping and packaging of the boards/power supply is first rate.  The vendor has a real electronics company that pays the bills so some patience is needed in communications and expectations.  I'm not a pro at this so it takes me a long time to figure out basic things but am confident that the project will go well. 

I ordered an Avel Lindberg Y236803 500VA 35V+35V Toroidal Transformer from parts express and two amp boards, soft start and power supply from Mirand.  The Mirand parts are not inexpensive but I decided to build it to their exact specs and pay for the quality parts. 

My first problem is that my existing chassis was too small.  I began looking for an alternative and decided to order a unit from Takachi
  I found it in stock at their US supplier https://us.misumi-ec.com/vona2/detail/222000227816/?curSearch=%7b%22field%22%3a%22%40search%22%2c%22seriesCode%22%3a%22222000227816%22%2c%22innerCode%22%3a%22%22%2c%22sort%22%3a1%2c%22specSortFlag%22%3a0%2c%22allSpecFlag%22%3a0%2c%22page%22%3a1%2c%22pageSize%22%3a%2260%22%7d&Tab=codeList  Again this is not the least expensive solution, but is of high quality.

I'm starting to mock up the layout which should be easy as it is a fairly large chassis if you mount the amp modules to the side heat sinks. 

I'm pretty excited about this project but know it will take a few months to complete. 

Thanks for looking,
Robert