Spatial/Nuprime advise please.

Tom419

Spatial/Nuprime advise please.
« on: 13 Jun 2019, 12:22 am »
I am about to pull the trigger on two possible Spatial speaker/Nuprime amp scenarios.  Option #1  Spatial M4 turbo S with a Nuprime IDA 16 integrated amp $ 3990. OR Spatial m3 turbo S with a Nuprime IDA 8. $4090.  My newly assigned 2 channel room is a carpeted, 12.5 x 19 x 8 space.  My musical tastes are mostly rock and jazz. My source will be a Bluesound Vault 2i which I will buy around the same time as my speaker/amp purchase. I hoping to have a nice sounding system that 2 people seated close together can enjoy that leans towards warm as opposed to bright. Im a 70 year old newbie and would greatly appreciate input from people who have first experience with these two combinations.  Thanks in advance.

Wind Chaser

Re: Spatial/Nuprime advise please.
« Reply #1 on: 13 Jun 2019, 03:47 am »
I wish I could help, but I haven’t heard the M4 or the IDA 16. I own the M3 and I had an IDA 8 on loan while I patiently waited for my Nuprime DAC-10 to arrive. If I were to hazard a guess, the M3 and M4 are more similar than different, seeing that they use the same compression driver, it’s just that the M3 will provide you with more / deeper bass than the M4. As for the IDA 8 vs 16, they have different amps and DACs, so even though I haven’t heard the 16, I would suspect it would be real step up from the IDA 8. So each combo has it pros and cons, but which would be the better choice?  :dunno:

JackD

« Reply #2 on: 13 Jun 2019, 03:58 am »
I have owned the M3 Turbo S and the M3 Triode Master along with the DAC-10/ST-10 combo but have also owned an IDA-8.  You will be disappointed with the IDA-8 on the Spatial speakers.  The IDA-16 will be much closer to the 10 series combo and if you can live without the extra bass output of the M3 then go for the M4 and the better integrated and worry about a sub if you feel you need it later. 

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.