System advice (warning student budget!)

fiveoclockfriday

« on: 16 Jun 2005, 04:07 am »
Hey guys, long time reader, first time poster. I was originally considering saving some money to purchase a Sonic Impact T-Amp and a pair of Super 3's with the Skylar stands. I already have a Philips universal player that will serve as the source. Once I read about the Mini Me's and the Clari-T amp deal that goes along with them, I got to thinking whether or not that would be a better sound. Certainly the Clari-T is a better sounding amp, but are the Super 3's better than the Mini-Me's? ( I realize better is a crazy term to throw around, so I apologize in advance) The next logical step of course was to consider all the other combinations of these 4 components. So, what are your guys thoughts? Price is a major concern.
I am a student living in an apartment, so for the next few years I won't have a large listening room by any measure. I listen to mostly jazz, blues, "classic rock", and then the poorly labeled "post rock" (bands like Tortoise, the Sea and Cake, Sam Prekop, etc.).

Option 1 - T-Amp and Mini-Me's w/stands - Approx $650
Option 2 - Clari-T and Mini-Me's w/stands - Approx $1000
Option 3 - T-Amp and Super 3's w/stands - Approx $800
Option 4 - Clari-T and Super 3's w/stands - Approx $1200

Thanks in advance-

Rocket

« Reply #1 on: 16 Jun 2005, 09:31 am »
Hi,

I bought a sonic impact on the weekend and was pretty impressed with the sound.  If you buy one make sure you get a good quality switching power supply.  Apparently the rat shack one's aren't too good.

You can always upgrade to the clari-t once you can afford one.

Regards

Rod

CJ Paul

« Reply #2 on: 20 Jan 2006, 04:31 pm »
Quote from: Rocket
Hi,

I bought a sonic impact on the weekend and was pretty impressed with the sound.  If you buy one make sure you get a good quality switching power supply.  Apparently the rat shack one's aren't too good.

You can always upgrade to the clari-t once you can afford one.