Theta, Lexicon or Meridian processor?

playntheblues

• D-Sonic, Mola Mola TamBagui, Tekton DISE
« on: 5 Jul 2005, 03:34 am »
I'm fairly new to the HOme theater gig.  I am planning on purchasing Klipsch RF7's a RSW 15 Sub and the matching center for starters.  I currantly have a pair of K-horns that I will be selling.  The RF7's will be powered by the Dodd Audio 120 watt monos and I thinking of trying my TEac 700 for the center and surrounds for starters. Two channel audio is the most important thing to me.  What do you guys feel is the best processor?  I have been looking at the above.  Which would include  Meridian 861, Lexicon MC-12 or the Theta Digital CASABLANCA.  I need to have an onboard DAC and would like room correction.  Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.  All the best, Guy

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
« Reply #1 on: 5 Jul 2005, 03:43 am »
It seems to me that you should look at Meridian's G68.  It does pretty sophisticated room correction, plus just about everything else.  And it's quite a bit cheaper than the 800 series.

ted_b

• Volunteer
  • "we're all bozos on this bus" F.T.
« Reply #2 on: 5 Jul 2005, 04:33 am »
Yeah, a Meridian G68-j would give you room correction, etc for $6500 retail, a bargain that includes Meridian quality.  It would take almost $12k to do that with a Lexicon MC-12B V4.  I am looking seriously at the G68 as well as an Anthem D1 (no room correction, though).

Ted

ekovalsky

« Reply #3 on: 5 Jul 2005, 04:52 am »
I'd also suggest the Meridian G68.  I have the G98 transport and have been very impressed with its quality and operation.  The Meridian room correction is simpler than the TacT or DEQX and operates only below 300hz which is where most of the action is anyway.  It also is one of the few processors that has a high-res digital input.  Of course this only works with Meridian transports, like the G98.  The Meridian system remote is great too.