looking to build an N3...

scc135

looking to build an N3...
« on: 4 Nov 2009, 09:32 pm »
OK, I'm still a bit new to audio, but having owned Onix Ref 1s, and AV123 525Ms, I wanted to go with some towers next. I've been eying the N3, and even though I consider myself relatively handy, I don't own table tools, so don't even know where to start. I do have a cordless drill, batt operated circular saw, a jigsaw, and a dremel. I figured I would need a table saw, and a router if I want some nice rounded edges, and a bunch of clamps. Suggestions or any help? Or maybe someone in NYC wants to give me a hand?

cujobob

Re: looking to build an N3...
« Reply #1 on: 4 Nov 2009, 11:14 pm »
There are several sources for flatpacks....I'd go with something like that.  I think eD offers them at decent prices.

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #2 on: 4 Nov 2009, 11:20 pm »
I've built the AV-3's that are nearly identical.  It is a project that a beginner can do, but I'd suggest a table saw and a decent blade.  You can do it with a circular saw with guides, its just a bit more tedious.  Let us know how it turns out.  It's a great value speaker.

Almost forgot, you'll need a circle jig for the router, or make one yourself. You can do the woofer cutouts with the jigsaw, but the tweeter cutout needs a router and jig.

scc135

« Reply #3 on: 4 Nov 2009, 11:29 pm »
I really wanted to make it a DIY thing instead of actually buying a flat pack, although that is also an option as I've been talking to denny at custom concepts. I've built things before for work, so I don't think I'm gonna be in over my head, it's just that I don't have the tools for this project, and need to know what's a good table saw and router. Mind you, this is not what I do on a day to day basis, nor do I want something that'll just fall apart midway though. Something I can use a few times a year...