GR Research Brute Speakers

Presb4

GR Research Brute Speakers
« on: 3 Sep 2023, 03:53 pm »
I have poked around and did not see a thread dedicated to building the new GR Research Brute Speakers. Maybe this can fix that.... :popcorn:
« Last Edit: 4 Sep 2023, 02:28 am by Presb4 »

Presb4

Re: GR Research Brute Speakers
« Reply #1 on: 3 Sep 2023, 03:56 pm »
This is my first build of a DIY speaker kit. I received the drivers and the crossover components this week and the flat packs are still in the mail.
I started on the crossovers this weekend and have them mostly done and will finish the wiring once I have the cabinets built and I can determine the length of wire I need.

Presb4

« Reply #2 on: 3 Sep 2023, 05:37 pm »
Picture of my completed crossovers

Presb4

« Reply #3 on: 3 Sep 2023, 05:45 pm »
So I was going to use the Norez in the cabinets, but I am not sure if I should also use poly fill in addition to the Norez.
What have the other Brute builders done? Danny? Hobbs? little help on this would be appreciated.

Presb4

« Reply #4 on: 3 Sep 2023, 09:25 pm »
I found this old post from 2017 talking about Norez and poly or fiberglass fill. Would this thinking still apply to the Brute? And location, fiberglass in behind the bass speaker only or also behind the mid range too?

When the cabinet wall resonances are reduced it allows you to hear the bass as it was intended without added box coloration. So the bass is much cleaner and tighter. Lower vocal ranges are much cleaner as well.

Typically we line the cabinets with it wall to wall for maximum effectiveness, but just covering the middle of each panel can be very effective.

Fiberglass or poly fill is then added for additional absorption and tuning of the box.

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #5 on: 4 Sep 2023, 02:51 pm »
So I was going to use the Norez in the cabinets, but I am not sure if I should also use poly fill in addition to the Norez.