Carvin T100 for Home Stereo?

stevecuss

Carvin T100 for Home Stereo?
« on: 23 Feb 2016, 01:14 am »
Friends,

Has anyone ever tried a Carvin power amp for home use? They claim the T100 (50 watts per channel, a quad of 6L6 or EL34s) is commonly used for home stereo, but I can't find any reviews.

Here is the amp: http://www.carvinaudio.com/products/ts100

I'm dipping my toes into the tube world and considering the Carvin as it offers a lot of watts for the buck, but I don't know how to evaluate tube amp quality. Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Here's my plan:

I have a 9 yr old Arcam AVR350 that I would run as the "front end" of the system.
- Arcam internal amp would drive center speaker for TV and DVD watching.
- Tube power amp would drive my GR Research N2x monitors for music
- powered sub to give the monitors some oomph. 
- music is Cd and iTunes streaming, run through a tube DAC currently.

I like the Arcam, but as a guitarist, I believe that driving the tone with tubes would add some dimension.

Alternately, I am acquiring a Baldwin 54A organ amp with some vintage el84 tubes and have thought about converting it to a stereo amp. I built my own guitar tube amp once, so I can solder, but I'm rusty and would need to find a design I can work with. 

Anyway, bottom line is I'm seeking info on the Carvin, but I'll take any thoughts on the above project

thanks much

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Re: Carvin T100 for Home Stereo?
« Reply #1 on: 23 Feb 2016, 06:08 am »
Hello, Steve.

I'd never heard of Carvin or its TS100 amp till now. I checked the website - $595 - for a tube amp is darned cheap. I wonder how it sounds.

I didn't see any reviews either, but there have been discussions about the amp, but they date back 5+ years.

Perhaps someone else here has some knowledge of the amp.

Michael

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.