I Switched sides.

Crimson

I Switched sides.
« on: 26 Sep 2012, 10:37 pm »
Yes, it's true. I started playing the bass about 6 months ago after almost 40 years of playing the guitar. And I'm loving it. Unfortunately, there is a learning curve. Yes, a guitar player can handle the physical requirements of fretting and (in my case) finger-picking. But that's pretty much where the similarities end. Timing and progressions are very different. As I was told initially, 'you sound like a rhythm guitarist playing the base'. But with practice that's slowly changing now, and WOW! What an instrument.

After a few iterations, I'm currently happy playing an active Ibanez SR1400 Premium with Nordstrand Big Single pickups through a Hartke 3500 hybrid head which feeds a Hartke 410 cabinet. I love the Ibanez as it's not thick and chunky like a standard Jazz or Precision bass (Ha, it's more like a guitar), and has incredible tone. The hybrid with 410 cabinet are just right. Great punch and clarity. Oh, and I found out that you need a lot more power for the bass when playing in a band. A little 150W (!) combo won't cut it.

Just thought I'd share.

Delta Wave

Re: I Switched sides.
« Reply #1 on: 26 Sep 2012, 10:43 pm »
 :thumb: I've been tossing around the idea as well. I tend to dig a fretless bass, they've always had a natural feel every time I've picked one up and played it.

Quiet Earth

« Reply #2 on: 26 Sep 2012, 11:37 pm »
Congratulations man and Wow!  What a nice rig!