Center speaker match for the 1801b

rklein

• My finest audio piece ever!!
« on: 26 Apr 2004, 01:43 pm »
Hi Dave:

I got your email requesting to post my question to you on this site.  Thanks for sending me here.  Very nice site.  Here is my situation... I am a classical musician.  I have many faults, however, my ears are very good.  This has always been a dilemma for me when picking out audio equipment at somewhat reasonable prices.  The home theater factor has not helped this area.  i.e. getting a DVD player that has a decent CD audio playback at a somewhat friendly price(2 kids in college...)  I have a 16 x 23 family room that doubles for two channel and HT.  My question is:   I am considering purchasing the 1801b kit. These will do double duty as my front speakers for two channel and HT. My question is: what do I do for a center speaker to match the 1801b's?  I am sure that my current Signet center will not match the quality of the 1801b.  Would another 1801b work for my center?  Thanks again for your help.

rklein

Al Garay

« Reply #1 on: 26 Apr 2004, 04:33 pm »
Try a set of 1801b's first and then find out if you truely need a center channel. They image extremely well. And the dialogue is very clear.

MaxCast

« Reply #2 on: 26 Apr 2004, 08:11 pm »
Order 5 kits and set up an assembly line  :)
Otherwise, try going with two if everyone is close to the sweet spot or three of the same.

byteme

« Reply #3 on: 26 Apr 2004, 08:19 pm »
As much as I like to believe that going without a center could be an option it just simply isn't if you're running 5.1/6.1/7.1 or even PLII for that matter.  In fact, I'd probably say in that situation you'd be better off with ONLY a center an no mains!  There just isn't a substitute for having a center unless the reciever uses some kind of proprietary method to fake a center.