Aiwa Turntable Help

gitarretyp

Aiwa Turntable Help
« on: 25 Aug 2005, 11:26 pm »
I have an Aiwa AP-2600U turntable with a micro-benz cartridge that i inherited from my father. I really know very little about it and am considering getting into vinyl a bit more. I've been using this table with a cheap parasound phono pre to play the few albums i have, and the sound is okay.

Now, to my questions:

Does anyone know anything about this table? It's pretty hefty (~25 lbs) and seems well built, but i'm basically a vinyl newbie. The only info i could find anywhere were two pictures and a british site selling styluses. What i really want to know is if the the table is worth keeping or selling (if i sell it, i'd probably get something like a used rega p3). If keeping it, is it serviceable or upgradeable (ie, tonearm, cartridge,...)? Or, if selling, any idea what it might be worth?

Photos are in my gallery.

gitarretyp

Aiwa Turntable Help
« Reply #1 on: 26 Aug 2005, 06:44 pm »
No one is familiar with this table?

By the way, it was purchased in the late 70s or early 80s.

TheChairGuy

Aiwa Turntable Help
« Reply #2 on: 28 Aug 2005, 07:46 pm »
Look on ebay to see if there is the same model selling there - it'll give you an idea what it may be worth.

It's neat/clean looking...I don't remember seeing Aiwa TT's in the 70's or 80's so I can't guide you on it other than pointing you to ebay (if you haven't already checked there for it)

gitarretyp

Aiwa Turntable Help
« Reply #3 on: 25 Sep 2005, 04:51 am »
I've been doing a bit of work restoring the table and have found that the spindle appears to be slightly bent. This manifests itself as a slight wobble of the platter.