Another Cornet II started...

pretzel_logic60

Another Cornet II started...
« on: 20 Feb 2009, 10:12 pm »
These Hagerman kits seem to be very popular projects but judging from all the great reviews well deserved. I have been using a Cornet I now for a few years and never did any upgrades after the original build. I did use sonicaps in the signal path but that was about the only change I did different from stock. I've always been very satisfied with my original Cornet but wanted to give this new one a go.

I've actually had the boards for both the Piccolo and Cornet 2 for several months but after buying a new house and finally getting settled in it was time to tackle both these projects. I knew going in it really should be a fairly easy build considering how easy the first Cornet went. But I wanted to make some major upgrades and after doing a lot of reading on here and at the AA I decided it was time to get down to ordering parts.

I want to thank Jim, "tubesforever" for being very very helpful in getting me on the right path and explaining some things. I'm no pro at reading schematics, have a little knowledge but only enough to get into trouble. So after several e-mails I was ready to begin gathering parts. I'm certainly not taking this as far as Jim has, he seems like the ultimate tweaker and though I may make some changes down the road I'm sure I'll be very happy with what I have to start with.

I was able to get all the resistors, tube sockets, the electrolytics and a few other parts soldered to the board last night and this morning. I'm using Kiwame 2 watt resistors, a few stock electrolytics but Panasonics in a couple areas. In the signal path will be mostly Dynamicaps, a couple oversized Mundorf SIO, as well as some Russian K40y9 for the RIAA phase that Jim had extras of and is selling me.