Power On/Off Solutions

drubin

Power On/Off Solutions
« on: 1 Aug 2012, 10:53 pm »
Wondering what folks are doing about a power on/off switch in their Ncore builds.  I started with an IEC chassis inlet that included such a switch, but it failed and I decided to replace it with a different part that doesn't include a switch.  So I'm looking for a simple way to add convenient on/off to my dual-mono amp. [Let me add that I have very little technical knowledge or DIY experience, so be gentle with me. And I apologize if this has already been covered elsewhere.]

genjamon

Re: Power On/Off Solutions
« Reply #1 on: 2 Aug 2012, 02:25 pm »
I have a nAmpon switch, but no power switch and am likewise looking for a solution that doesn't require me disassembling all the connections to the rear plate just to add a power switch to my monoblocks.  I realize I could add one to the front panel, but the front panel is actually two panels, and I shudder at having to drill a precise hole through both of those layers and have them align.  The back panel drilling was hairy enough for my novice skills, but I'd be staring at my ghastly work constantly if I screwed up the fronts.  Something simple would be nice, and with only smallish circular holes to be drilled if any.

Any cool ideas that wouldn't impact sound quality?  Do switches really impact sound quality anyway?  I know there are those who swear by swapping out fuses in power supplies - if that has any merit, I suppose a poor quality switch would also impact things.

HT cOz

« Reply #2 on: 2 Aug 2012, 02:29 pm »