Iso Cup Review

driguy

Iso Cup Review
« on: 25 Nov 2009, 11:01 pm »
I have been using Herbies tube dampers for about two years now. Just before writing this review I took off one set of my tube dampers which I had not done in quite a while. Wow, I did not realize how much better things were with them on. Like most audio improvements, if you can hear a small improvement right away it seems that you will get more out of it as you relax and stop listening for that particular change in sound over your music collection. Try it with an update you have made that is easily reversed. You may be surprised at how much of an improvement there really is.
The tube dampers really made things smooth out. This was on a pair of Emission Labs 300b XLS tubes that on their own have very sturdy bases and thick glass as well as very good plate supports. I have dampers on all my tubes including a pair of 26 tubes in my preamp and the rectifier and driver tubes in my amps.
OK, enough of the review that I should have posted a year ago. On to the ISO Cup review. I had been using a custom stand for my modified LadyDay 300b amps. They are made from 2" thick black walnut with spiked feet. I also used some dampening feet on the amps themselves. This really worked well for several years but as my system has increased in resolution and I have stopped spending on more costly upgrades I thought it may be time to check out a better solution.
Well after my positive experiences with Herbies stuff and the positive postings on the cups I decided to give them a try. Besides, he gives you a trial period and they are really not expensive at all especially in comparison to all those other products out there. As usual the cups arrived quickly in the mail. Nearly instant gratification in comparison to my building and upgrading my gear.