Need help with streaming MQA on Tidal please..new Dac or streamer?

morganc

Hey guys.  I love my Audio Mirror SE DAC but…… I listen to a lot of streaming on Tidal and it’s becoming more and more MQA only on certain albums and I’ve noticed the sound quality deteriorates severely on those tracks. 

Any recos on how to improve MQA Sound quality?   I’m using an Aries Mini Streamer now. 

Questions for the gurus here.
1.  Would other streamers decode the MQA for me so I could keep my Dac?  If not,
2. Best choice on Dacs that do decode the MQA that are similar to the Audio Mirror? 

avta

Are you sure your DAC can decode MQA?

morganc

Are you sure your DAC can decode MQA?

Huh?  As stated above No.  that's the reason I posted this thread. 

Doublej

If you expand the DAC User Manual on this page you will see the answer is

DAC does not have MQA capability.

avta

Sorry guess I was slow to understand that. As I understand it, and I'm no expert, the first so called unfolding of MQA files is done by software and the second process is done by the DAC. I'm not familiar with the sound of your DAC but others here may be. Do you have a budget for another DAC which is likely what you will have to do.

whell

Sorry guess I was slow to understand that. As I understand it, and I'm no expert, the first so called unfolding of MQA files is done by software and the second process is done by the DAC. I'm not familiar with the sound of your DAC but others here may be. Do you have a budget for another DAC which is likely what you will have to do.

Or, keep your DAC, which you enjoy, and dump Tidal.  There are alternative streaming services out there that sound as good or better, don't require proprietary equipment or software, and don't leave the user wondering if the next album they hear will sound like crap or not just because their DAC doesn't offer the "unfolding" of a stupid lossy encoding standard that ultimately adds nothing to the user's enjoyment of music.

Craig B