ACOUSTIC TREATMENT of the listening space

G E

« on: 1 May 2019, 05:12 pm »
I got kicked out out of the current cable argument thread for suggesting we argue about something else   :lol:

So I am starting separate thread for this topic.

Acoustic treatment has by far has the most impact to quality of the sound of the room. Yet few people undertake it. Why is that?

It should take priority over equipment upgrades and audiophile records.

Years ago I built out a dedicated space. Even found a calculator to size room to minimize nulls etc.

The sound quality was terrible. It was NOT my gear which was great in a 2 story open floor plan space. But in my 13x15x9 space... unlistenable.

I studied up on acoustic treatment and built absorption panels and bass traps and what a transformation!

I’m revisiting my current acoustic treatment and will add diffusion in key areas.

If you haven’t treated your listening space, why?  I don’t want to hear about wife acceptance factor. There are ways to do this tastefully in a shared space.

And, NO,  electronic equalization does not solve the problem of controlling unwanted reflective sound waves!  I've had ongoing "conversations" with an old friend who went down that path.

Let the “discussion”commence.

Elizabeth

• So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Re: ACOUSTIC TREATMENT of the listening space
« Reply #1 on: 1 May 2019, 05:59 pm »
Thanks G.E. for starting a thread about a good problem most folks have.
I have ignored the room a lot. I know I should get into the room issues, but have only done a few trivial adjustments. 
The speaker location is the biggest issue in a room.