AKSA 55N+ Parts

IMS

AKSA 55N+ Parts
« on: 2 Jan 2009, 07:10 pm »
I had the post labeled AKSA or Lifeforce, and decided on the 55, since this is my first project.  So I chickened out on the Lifeforce.  I'm in the process of getting my other parts, and have a couple of questions. 

I am in the US, Nevada.

Transformer - I found a 150va 2x24.6v at Toroid.com.  Would this be a good choice, or other recommendations?

Case - I'm looking at the Par-Metal.com 20 series.  I can get 4" or 5" height.  I think 4" is fine, but want to make sure.

Also, any other recommendations for other parts.

Thanks,

Greg

whubbard

Re: AKSA 55N+ Parts
« Reply #1 on: 2 Jan 2009, 09:46 pm »
Hi Greg,

I personally went with the lifeforce, but its not that different of a beast. 4" Should be plenty. The heatsink itself is only about 3", and the toroid you picked is only 2". Your covered.

For the Toroid I went with a Plitron, but the one you picked should be okay. However, I should point out Hugh thinks it should be atleast 160VA, so you might want to get one a little bit bigger.

Plitron does have some 160VA or 225VA, but I believe they are a bit more expensive. Luckily the US dollar vs. the Canadian Dollar is doing well. (By the way, if you do get it from Plitron, you might want to check the Forex quote when you buy and compare it to what they quote you. I saved myself a bit by doing that.)

-West

IMS

« Reply #2 on: 2 Jan 2009, 09:58 pm »
West,

That's what I was afraid of re the transformer.  I tried to order from Plitron, but they require a min order of $250cd.  I also found an Avel for that size, but have had no luck finding a place to purchase it.  The closest was Part Express, and it was 250VA.  I don't know if that will work.  I read on some of the posts where performance might be affected.  I would appreciate any other suggestions

Greg

stvnharr

« Reply #3 on: 2 Jan 2009, 10:04 pm »