monarchy audio M24 DAC

pianoguys

monarchy audio M24 DAC
« on: 8 Mar 2023, 02:11 pm »
Hi I am new to AC and was not sure where to post this - but I am considering this DAC (need to seek it out on the used market) and was wondering if anyone had any opinions/experience with this, and how it compares to newer DACs.  A friend strongly recommended this to me, particularly because it does not have op amps.  thank you.   

Woodsage

• My YouTube Channel
Re: monarchy audio M24 DAC
« Reply #1 on: 8 Mar 2023, 06:45 pm »
I owned this DAC years ago and thought it was a decent DAC. It also is a pre-amp and has both SS and tube outputs making it a pretty versatile machine. How it compares to newer DACS I can’t say especially at no given price point. They do come up used from time to time however the ones I have seen listed lately seem over priced to me. I think I paid around $500 used for mine.

Another thing to consider is Mr. Poon has retired so I don’t think factory support is available anymore. 

Good luck and good listening!

navi

« Reply #2 on: 21 Jun 2023, 11:43 pm »
Hi I am new to AC and was not sure where to post this - but I am considering this DAC (need to seek it out on the used market) and was wondering if anyone had any opinions/experience with this, and how it compares to newer DACs.  A friend strongly recommended this to me, particularly because it does not have op amps.  thank you.

PCM63K Multibit DAC + Tube Output stage. I think I might like this.
You won't be able to do high bit rate but it's not a big deal. Prob. won't have the blackest backgrounds and sound as fast/dynamic as new DAC - Some people prefer smooth, warm and tonal depth instead.

Did you end up getting this DAC?

pianoguys

« Reply #3 on: 26 Jun 2023, 06:39 pm »