Cables & interconnects

BrianM

Cables & interconnects
« on: 15 Sep 2006, 01:37 pm »
I realize this "controversial" topic is always ongoing and far from new, and I've gathered that a certain manufacturer's stance on fancy cables is basically don't waste your money. Fair enough, but I'd never considered it from the angle just articulated in the amp thread, that cables will actually change how your components operate, as opposed to sounding different in and of themselves, or as FVA put it "the effect of how much the load that cable represents changes the linearity of the equipment it is attached to."

Maybe that's unpardonable naivete on my part; not being an engineer I guess I'd always assumed a cable was a more or less passive, pass-through entity, the differences between cables being how good or bad they were at transmitting data. Or something.

Which begs the question, how do we know if our (fancy) cables are harming the linearity (whatever that is, I assume linearity is good) of our equipment? Or, which cables should I be using when I have components by 4 different manufacturers. What cables does FVA use for his stuff? Do fancier cables simply not make a difference, or can they actually make things worse? I bought relatively expensive cables way back because the guy at the (respected, venerable) audio store said that's usually what you do when you get nice stuff, cash permitting. (There was even a formula for how much to spend, based on what you'd paid for your components!) Now I didn't compare one brand of cable to another, figuring that that way madness lay, and figuring once you'd gotten something of quality, the differences between different quality brands would be too slight to bother.

BrianM

Re: Cables & interconnects
« Reply #1 on: 15 Sep 2006, 02:48 pm »