Any trail runners out there?

Badwater

Any trail runners out there?
« on: 23 Mar 2011, 11:42 pm »
I have been running trails for since 1997  and running since 1980.  i am old an slow but still enjoy getting out for a long run on the Pennsylvania AT on the weekend.  i also do the occasional ultra from time to time, but that has dropped off as I have gotten older.  Hoping to do a 100K this summer followed up with a 100 miler this fall, assuming I can get in ultra shape again.

Anyhow, anybody else doing the trails?

Bill

Badwater

Re: Any trail runners out there?
« Reply #1 on: 9 Jul 2011, 11:30 pm »
For various reasons I haven't been able to run for the past several weeks and have seriously detrained.  I started back last week and have set a couple goals:  Run the Green Lakes Endurance Run 50K in Syracuse, NY in late August and use that as a springboard to run the Lost 118 in Florida in February followed by the Keys 100 in May.  After that who knows.

Green Lakes isn't that far off so it will be a survival contest to see how much I want to suffer.   

At 61 getting back in shape is no fun.  The key to completing these runs is the long training run.  Did a very slow 15 mile trail run today.  i will hold it at 15 for a couple of weeks and slowly bump the long run  into the mid 20s with lots of elevation gain.  After the 50K I plan to introduce speed work to improve my cruising speed.  I am much too slow and fat right now.  The key is consistency. High miles aren't as important as just doing it week in week out.

Anyone else training for an ultra, maraton or just running?

Bill

geowak

« Reply #2 on: 10 Jul 2011, 05:25 pm »
Hey Badwater,

Yes I love to run trails. It is one of my favorite things to do. I don't think I am of the same mind as you, as I don't really want to run a marathon race. But I enjoy running trails for many reasons-

1 It's great fun to do with the wife.
2 When my wife cannot go, Socrates my dog, will always go.