EE Minimax preamp and Stratos dual Mono_ Preamps

dgotlse

« on: 10 Mar 2006, 06:06 pm »
Hello,

I am today's newbie here and I'll be soon the happy owner of a Stratos dual Mono.

I was considering buying a EE Minimax Preamp.

It is a good match? I have been told that a low gain preamp was needed to work properly with the Statos?

My alternative choice are (apart Tempest which is still on my list):
- Rogue Audio Metis
- FT Audio passive Little Wonder
- Monolithic audio passive
- IRD Purist.

All suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks

TheChairGuy

Re: EE Minimax preamp and Stratos dual Mono_ Preamps
« Reply #1 on: 10 Mar 2006, 07:14 pm »
Quote from: dgotlse
Hello,

I am today's newbie here and I'll be soon the happy owner of a Stratos dual Mono.

I was considering buying a EE Minimax Preamp.

It is a good match? I have been told that a low gain preamp was needed to work properly with the Statos?

My alternative choice are (apart Tempest which is still on my list):
- Rogue Audio Metis
- FT Audio passive Little Wonder
- Monolithic audio passive
- IRD Purist.

All suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks

Bienvenu!

I had the IRD Purist...it is extremely well made and if SS preamp is appealling, it is a great value.  However, I found it to be very high gain 2 years ago (I do not know if this has changed more recently), so it might not be good match for Stratos.

It was blowing me out of my room on the first or second click matched to Norh Multiamps back then.

I use a (tube) Dynaco PAS-4 with my Khartago and am very pleased  :)

Eduardo AAVM

« Reply #2 on: 11 Mar 2006, 07:44 am »
MiniMax works great with Stratos, ask Bill O´Conell about the upgrade which aside other benefits lowers output ipedance so it is better suited to match Stratos.

But anyway you should also consider Tempest, it is a gret performer all around.

dgotlse

Preamp dilemma
« Reply #3 on: 11 Mar 2006, 01:57 pm »
Chair Guy, thanks for your input.