First stab at a turntable since the 70's.

Bigload

First stab at a turntable since the 70's.
« on: 26 Jul 2011, 01:33 am »
I have been lurking around here and reading on line reviews to try and zero in on a complete turntable set up between $1500 and $2000.  I am a complete novice here and am just picking up a few tidbits from what I read.  I hate to sink a ton of cash into this since it really is a bit of an experiment for me.  I had somewhat zeroed in on a Marantz TT 15S1 as it was within my budget, had decent reviews, came with what appeared to be a decent arm and MM Clearaudio Virtuoso wood cartridge rated at 3.6mV.  (Sounded good to me, but I know very little about it.)  And... it looked reasonably easy to set up according to the Marantz manual.  The rest of my system is Salk Verocity HT2TL speakers, and an AVA Insight + Double 260.  I unfortunately did not order my AVA Star hybrid preamp with the phono circuits!  So I guess that means I would have to use my Onkyo TX-NR5007 AVR as a phono pre, or buy a stand alone phono preamp.  I am not sure if the AVA Star can be modded after the fact or not.  Appreciate any guidance you guys can give me on the desireability of the Marantz and the best way to set up the preamp function.  Sorry to be such a goober! 

bpape

• Industry Participant
  • I am serious and don't call my Shirley
    • Sensible Sound Solutions

dB Cooper

Re: First stab at a turntable since the 70's.
« Reply #2 on: 26 Jul 2011, 03:07 am »
Call Frank, he'll tell you what a phono stage would cost. If you want to go "cheap & cheerful", look into the Hagerman Bugle which has a rep for far outperforming its price point.

2gumby2

« Reply #3 on: 26 Jul 2011, 11:13 am »
I recommend considering the Well Tempered Lab Simplex turntable.
http://www.welltemperedlab.net

Bigload

« Reply #4 on: 27 Jul 2011, 12:16 am »
I did check with Frank at AVA and he said the AVA Star can be upgraded to add the phono circuits.  SO that will be my first step. 

Minn Mark