how to avoid attaching USB hard drive to Mac used as music player

cporada

Hi,
I am using a MacBook Pro to play all of my music files via JRiver, Tidal, and Qobuz. It is connected via USB to a BelCanto RefLink, that then outputs to a Mojo Audio Mystique V2SE DAC.  The MacBook has been stripped down and has no software and is used for nothing other than audio.  I read on the Empirical Audio website that you should never attach an external USB hard drive to the computer that is used to output audio files via USB.  My question is: how can I have access to all of my music files if I don't use an external hard drive?  Would I have to attach the hard drive to another computer in my house and access the files via hard-wired network? Is this a fairly straightforward thing to do as far as getting J River to "see" the hard drive through the network?
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm still fairly new to the use of computers for audio.
Thanks for any suggestions/help,
Chris

srb

You could share the USB drive attached to another computer on the network, but of course that computer would always have to be on and available, however that option would cost you nothing additional.

An even better solution would be to buy a NAS (Network Attached Storage) device which would plug into your network router or switch.  Most have USB ports to attach USB external drives or printers if needed, but they need at least one internal drive for the OS anyway.

Depending on the size of the drive(s) they can also be used to back up computers on the network.  They usually consume less power than a computer and have numerous sleep options.

Although many have expensive and powerful* NAS devices with multiple drives, I have a simple single drive Synology NAS that hosts music files and backs up two computers on the network.