Audio Art IC-3 interconnects

marvda1

• freelance reviewer: The Sound Advocate
Audio Art IC-3 interconnects
« on: 16 Jul 2006, 10:48 pm »
I am not a professional reviewer and i am not working for/with audio art but thought i would like to pass a little inside info on to the masses.

I'll start this off by saying run don't walk to your computer and place an order now. www.audioartcable.com He is about to raise his prices.
I will break this review down into three parts starting with my room ,setup, and what i like in a system/music.

Room: 12 x 15 x 8 ft. with speakers on the short wall with some fiberglass panels for acoustic treatment. The speakers are 3'4" out from the wall and 1'11" from the side walls. There is one chair (my throne) 9' away and the speakers are 8' apart and toed in to point at my listening position.

Equipment(before audio art):
Speakers: Usher 6381
Amp: Usher R-1.5
Preamp: Dodd Audio ELP tube preamp
Source: Onix XCD-88
Speaker cables: Gregg Straley Reality cables
Interconnects (cdp-preamp): Elf audio silver copper hybred
(preamp-amp): Zebra cables
Power cables: (cdp) Element cable digital cord
(preamp) Signal cable 10ga.
(power amp) Zebra cable 10 ga.
The Signal cable and Zebra cable cords are the same
design.

After years of buying affordable cables (<$100) and steady swapping them out for one another, I finally realised that I was only doing lateral moves and that there was not much difference in the sound of these cables so I was never satisfied.